St. John’s Jesuit Honors Outstanding K–8 Educators

St. John’s Jesuit Honors Outstanding K – 8 Educators
Posted on 12/03/2019
St. John's Jesuit High School & Academy has awarded the Fr. Henry Birkenhauer, S.J., Award for Outstanding Educators to five teachers who were nominated by SJJ freshmen as influential people in the K-8 experience. These recipients are Matt Beakas (Anthony Wayne Jr. High); Jason Jordan (Perrysburg Jr. High); Lisa Kuhl (Lial); Molly Lindsley (Saint Joseph School Sylvania ); and Gordon Bumpus (St. John’s Jesuit Academy). The St. Peter Faber, S.J. Outstanding Administrator Award recognizes an Administrator who has been nominated by a student as influential and a positive role model in leadership in the K-8 experience. This award goes to Deacon Mike Eier (St. Michael the Archangel Findlay).

Named for two beloved and influential Jesuits who embraced the mission of Christ through a calling to educate, the awards were given to recipients as determined by students in an essay assignment submitted in September.  Affectionately called the Kindle Awards, they recognize the extraordinary efforts of grade school educators who light the world on fire through their students.

Fr. Birkenhauer taught math at St. John’s Jesuit and returned in later years to serve as rector. He was a math and science instructor at John Carroll University and served as its 19th president. He gained national recognition for his scientific work, specifically for his studies of rocks under the polar ice caps. He was a beloved priest and mentor. Fr. Birkenhauer died in 2003.

St. Peter Faber was one of the first trusted leaders of the Society of Jesus in the 1500’s – the movement initiated by St. Ignatius of Loyola which evolved into the order of the Jesuits. Peter was a “listener”, often called upon by St. Ignatius to draw people together through the love of God.  

Each winner was presented with a plaque and a check for $1,000 at The Kindle Awards Dinner at St. John’s Jesuit on November 7th. Chris Knight '78, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, states “We recognize that many dedicated administrators and educators play an important part in the education and formation of our students before they join our high school community. We're grateful for the opportunity to establish these annual awards, named after two extraordinary Jesuits, as a way to acknowledge the contributions of all those who have helped our freshmen on their journey to St. John's Jesuit.”
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.